Little Movie | Blue Carpet & Film Review Wednesday 10 April, 2019

The Little Movie is debuting in theaters soon and I wanted to share my review and snaps from the Atlanta exclusive “blue carpet“.  You all know I love my carpet snaps, but due to a family emergency I couldn’t physically be there but plenty of snaps provided by Universal Studios/Paras Griffin to share for the recap. Little film stars Regina Hall, Issa Rae and Marsai Martin as well as Producer Will Packer and Director Tina Gordon, hit the blue carpet for a star-studded premiere at Regal Atlantic Station in midtown Atlanta.

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actress Marsai Martin attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

Marsai Martin is making big moves not only on the small screen but now on the big screen. The 14-year old Black-ish actress is making history by becoming the youngest person to ever executive produce a film. Martin is set to star in and is one of the producers of Little, a remake of the Tom Hanks film Big.

Isn’t that amazing? At 14 years old she comes up with a movie concept and stars and brings it to life! I am so proud of her! Also her dress is amazing and so fitting for her!

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actress Regina Hall attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actress Issa Rae attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

The blue carpet screening was a huge success with many of Atlanta’s biggest stars in entertainment, film and music excited to see LITTLE. Check out more “blue carpet” snaps from the Atlanta premiere and screening below!

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Marsai Martin and Issa Rae attend “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Regina Hall and Marsai Martin attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Will Packer attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

I always appreciate Will Packer not only producing many of his movies in the heart of Atlanta, but he always does amazing film carpets here. He makes sure Atlanta get the Hollywood treatment with any movie he is apart of! Will Packard you are amazing and thank you for always showing love to the city! You have bought a lot of films to Atlanta with blockbuster hits!

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Director Tina Gordon attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actor Caleb McLaughlin attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

I am so sad I missed him. I am a big fan of Caleb McLaughin who plays Lucas on “Stranger Things”. Did you know they filmed the last season of ST4 in Atlanta? So nice to see another young actor support this film!

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actor Luke James attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

Luke James co-stars in Little. He has a funny role I didnt expect from him but he was so cute doing it!

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actress Kai Ture attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

Upcoming child actress Kai Ture, also co-stars in the film. He breakout role is pretty pivot to this film story! I love her dress adorable!

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actor Tucker Meek attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actress Thalia Tran attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

Tucker Meek and Thalia Tran are also “little” co-stars in the Little Movie.

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: (L-R) Tina Gordon, Issa Rae, Marsai Martin, Regina Hall, and Will Packer attends “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Issa Rae, Marsai Martin, and Regina Hall attend “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Actress Marsai Martin onstage during “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – APRIL 04: Marsai Martin and Issa Rae onstage during “Little” Atlanta red carpet screening at Regal Atlantic Station on April 04, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images for Universal)

Marsai is definitely a little Issa Rae in the making to me! Issa Rae didnt just start off on HBO’s Insecure, she was the star and creator of online hit series “Akward Black Girl” where she wrote, produced and stared in her own show. Marsai already has a headstart in her teens as being the youngest executive producers ever and hopefully it opens doors for other kids to dream Big (pun intended) and write and star in their own productions too! I am so proud of her and can’t wait to see what the future hold’s for Marsai Martin.

MY LITTLE REVIEW

I think this movie is definitely a film for both adults and children. I also grew up watching Tom Hanks “Big” so to see Marsai’s rendition of it was amazing. I am loving the trend of taking a film and not remaking it, but flipping it and reinventing it for a new perspective similar to this year’s hit movie What Men Want (2019) remade interpretation of What Women Want (2000).

I also love how this movie is centered around a personification of Black Girl Magic. Black Girl Magic has been a buzz-term for African American women and girls for the last couple of years to show uniqueness, high-self esteem and overall extraordinary energy.  I alsoI will say I am also enjoying seeing young black children be the star of movies, especially young black girls. Last year we had Storm Reid (Wrinkle In Time), play a leading role in a big picture movie, but prior to her we haven’t seen that in a while. I grew up, Crookyln and Eve’s Bayou were my only films where I could see myself and age range on the big screen. So it’s beautiful to see Marsai star in this film as not just someone’s child but the actual main character of the movie.

Regina Hall as Jordan Sanders in “Little,” co-written and directed by Tina Gordon.

The movie itself is pretty interesting. The movie starts off similar to movies we have seen before, Jordan (Regina Hall) who is independent, rich and is in charge of her life and personality is hostile and intolerable to everyone around her. Then things take a twist as she wakes up one day as her 13 year old self (Marsai Martin)! Jordan has an assistant (Issa Rae) who finds Jordan in this internal Freaky Friday-ish dilemma with herself trap in a middler schoolers body.

I want to say Marsai Martin (Jordan) did so well in this film. She played this part so well, and mature but not over the top where it wasn’t believable or out of line.

I will say that this movie is one of the first ones I have seen where I believe you can take your kids and adults will find something to watch and enjoy it.  I also feel like the young teen demographic is an age where in films they get left out – meaning movies are either targeted for children 12 and younger with the animated films or its instantly an adult film. The pre-teens and teen I think are getting left out in the big screens so this is refreshing to see a movie like this for them to enjoy!

Since this is a film made with a young teenager in mind and forefront, it definitely stays PG-13. I would highly recommend making this a mother and daughter, Auntie-niece, or Girls Night Out with some pre-teens and teens!

TRAILER

LITTLE is in theaters April 12th #LittleMovie

If you could wake up and be your middle-school self what would you do differently?

About the Blogger - Kiwi the Beauty


I am a not so typical, unstereotypical 20something year old lady who is trying to make my mark on this planet. This blog has many aspect through my visual perspective through photos, words & wittiness. I am highly creative, I love to socialize, and also a social media butterfly. I don’t follow trends, I create them.


Related Posts


ESSENCE 2017 Black Women in Hollywood Awards & Gala [LOTS OF PHOTOS]
ESSENCE 2017 Black Women in Hollywood Awards & Gala [LOTS OF PHOTOS]
The Entertainment Life

27 Comments

  • Sheena Steward says:

    I can’t wait to see this movie! Again I’m so proud and inspired by everything you’re doing.

  • Stacie says:

    This is going to be such a great movie! I’m really excited to see it. That must have been such a fun time.

  • Kerrie Mendoza says:

    That is such an amazing undertaking: to produce AND star in a movie at such a young age. I love this spin on a classic movie! I love that it’s great for the whole family! Middle school for me seems so far away, that I can’t remember a whole lot. Maybe I would have studied harder instead of playing.

  • Liz Mays says:

    This movie sounds like a fun one to see with my daughter. It’s really cool that the film scene in Atlanta is taking off!

  • Brianne Tursi Manz says:

    I just recently saw the trailer for Little, and I laughed the whole time! I had to re-watch it a couple of more times. I love Marsai Martin’s twist on the classic movie Big.

  • Amy Desrosiers says:

    I love they had a blue carpet for this movie! I keep seeing the previews and would really love to watch this in theaters!

  • I’m looking forward to seeing this one myself. The previews look really funny!!

  • Krystal says:

    The previews are so funny! Can’t wait to
    Watch!

  • Aubrey says:

    Looks like a fun movie. You must have had a good time.

  • Catalina says:

    Sounds like an interesting movie, perfect for our family movie nights!

  • Snehal says:

    Thanks for your movie suggestion. This sounds like a really fun movie to see.

  • artchee says:

    I’ve never seen the trailer for this movie Little. But the story of the movie looks interesting and fun. :0)

  • Kristine Nicole Alessandra says:

    Marsai Martin is amazing! She is an inspiration to the youth to work to achieve their dreams. I am excited to watch this film. I know it is going to be really good!

  • Ruth I says:

    This movie looks interesting! I’ve got to see this. They are amazing!

  • Paula Schuck says:

    So many movies so little time. You have no idea how funny and appealing this movie is to me and to my oldest daughter as well. She mentioned it to me and showed me the trailer about three weeks ago and we’ve been waiting eagerly for this one to come to theatres. Looks really comical and what a great take on this funny switching bodies topic . Plus I love this young actress Who plays the little person. She’s so magnetic !

  • Theresa says:

    I saw the trailer for this one the other day and it looks like a real riot! I can’t wait to see it with my girls!

  • Love your review! I am looking forward to going to go see Little. I am ready to go see all this #blackgirlmagic. I love how the lead is 14 and a producer. I love Crooklyn and Eve’s Bayou too!

  • Tiffany La Forge-Grau says:

    The younger actress is really making waves! Good for her! More power to her!

  • Wendy Polisi says:

    This is the first I’m hearing of this! I feel so behind sometimes, glad you have the scoop!

  • Vanessa Delia says:

    I have been so excited about this. I knew Marsai was going to be going places, she’s great!

  • Bianca says:

    This is amazing, I just heard that this young lady just made history by being the youngest director in hollywood. I cant wait for this movie to premiere in London.

  • Heather says:

    Wow, this is so cool! Thanks for sharing all the details!

  • Mimi Green says:

    I loved the movie, I’ve seen it twice so far. I wouldn’t let my 7-year-old watch this film though, it isn’t for little children. It is okay to bring my teenager though.

  • REESA LEWANDOWSKI says:

    I have been seeing the previews for this and it looks like a great movie! It looks like you enjoyed the premier!

  • Porsha Carr says:

    Ive seen the previews and I def want to go see this movie with my husband. It looks so funny!

  • Sharon Wu says:

    i am not a big movie person but will share this with my boyfriend who is! xx

  • Elizabeth O says:

    What a delightful movie. I would definitely see it when I can. I love the fun storyline and the upbeat mood of it all.


Trackbacks and Pingbacks

Leave a Comment


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *